Changing of the Guard


Over the last couple of months, we have said goodbye to three of our Committee Members who have stood down from the Committee for a variety of reasons.

Shirley Audsley is one of the longest serving members, having joined the Friends shortly after it was set up in 2000. Shirley has been Membership Secretary for many of the intervening years, as well as volunteering with Helen in the Conservation area and doing indexing at home. Many times she has been the friendly face at the Friends of Teesside Archives' stand at heritage fairs and local history events. Shirley has resigned from the Committee and handed over her Membership Secretary duties but remains as a loyal member of the Friends and will continue to volunteer.


Joan Heggie has been a member of the Committee since 2005 when she became Treasurer of the Friends. Since then, she has served as the Membership Secretary and the Secretary and, since 2011, has been in charge of coordinating the volunteer programme. Sadly, working full-time and having other demands on her free time means that Joan has decided to resign from the Committee with effect from December 2013. However, she will continue as Volunteer Coordinator until the next AGM to give the Friends time to identify and train a new person to take over the role. Joan will continue to volunteer in the digitisation section andwill remain a member of the Friends.


Yvonne Leck was a founder member of the Friends of Teesside Archives and has been a Committee Member for most of the last 13 years, serving as Treasurer for many of the early years. Along with other founder members, such as Jim Nicholson, she was involved in setting up the Constitution of the Friends and with raising funds to buy equipment for the public to use at Teesside Archives, as well as for volunteers to use as part of the Friends organisation. Recently she was successful in sourcing funding to help finance our new website.


We are sad to lose such valuable members from the Committee but look forward to the opportunity to recruit new people into these roles. If you are interested in serving on the Committee and feel you have something to offer, please contact the Chair, Anne Clayton.